The Be-Attitudes

Matthew 5:3–12 

Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of Heaven.
Blessed are those who mourn: for they will be comforted. 
Blessed are the meek: for they will inherit the earth. 
Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness: for they will be filled.
Blessed are the merciful: for they will be shown mercy. 
Blessed are the pure in heart: for they will see God
Blessed are the peacemakers: for they will be called children of God.
Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness sake: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Blessed are you when others revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward in heaven is great, for so they persecuted the prophets  who were before you.

 

 

When I started this blog a few years ago, I imagined it as something I would post to almost daily. I decided that when I am struck with inspiration, I would post. The blog started out daily, then weekly, then monthly, then every few months.  I was not being inspired as much as I originally thought.

So, I apologize for my lack of postings.

But, at Mass yesterday, the Gospel was the Beatitudes, one of the most repeated and familiar passages in the entire Bible. And when my priest Fr. Chris started his homily, he referred to them as the Be-Attitudes.

Inspiration!

What a great way to describe this passage. These simple words explain so deeply how God wants us to live. Be merciful towards others, humble and meek to self, put others first, hunger and thirst for the ways of God, mourn when you are not acting as you should and be comforted by God’s mercy, be pure and peaceful, and take the heat when others persecute you for your faith in God. Rejoice for the kingdom of Heaven will be yours!

I was inspired by that sermon to really look at my own self. Am I where I need to be? In some areas, yes but in most, not even close. I have a lot of work to do to achieve what Christ has presented to us all. If we follow these Be-Attitudes, there is only joy and happiness for eternity, that’s all.

I am not going to promise that I can tackle all these shortcomings in my life all at once because I would just be setting myself up for failure just like I did when I promised to blog daily. It was not reasonable to think I could be inspired every day to write. But in a lot of ways, I am inspired daily by those around me who display Be-Attitudes that I take for granted.

So, inspired by Fr. Chris and the Scriptures, I can only say that I will do my best to live the Be-Attitudes each day with the knowledge that only good things can come from this. It won’t be easy and I might not even get it all right by the time my time comes to an earthly end. I can only say at this point that I will try and hopefully with God’s infinite mercy, I will be able to be counted among those He has chosen.

It’s time for my Be-Attitude adjustment…

 

 

Leave a Reply

