Adventageous

Mark 1:1-3
The beginning of the good news about Jesus the Messiah, the Son of God, as it is written in Isaiah the prophet: “I will send my messenger ahead of you, who will prepare your way” —“a voice of one calling in the wilderness, ‘Prepare the way for the Lord, make straight paths for him.’

As we prepare in this season of Advent for the coming of Christ,  we need to also take a look at our everyday lives and assess where we stand. Are we ready for not only this life but the one to come? Have we truly prepared our hearts to receive this most amazing gift?

I know in my own life, I am so busy doing the day-to-day things that I don’t spend enough time in real reflection and preparation for the Messiah. Yes, I listen to Mass every day and I do read the Scriptures on occasion. But I for the most part am going through the motions and not absorbing all that God is providing for me.

My life is filled with noise and distractions and wasted emotions. I find myself lately with a lack of patience and getting upset over silly trivial matters. These are the matters of this world and not of the world that I strive to be in someday.

So, I need to prepare in earnest in this Advent season and be ready and humbly grateful to receive the Gift that God is giving to us all. The Gift of Salvation. The Gift of Love. The Gift of Sacrifice. The Gift of Jesus.

Have a blessed and wonderful Advent season and prepare the Way of the Lord!
Leave a Reply

