My playlist

Like most people, I have a smartphone that has my favorite songs on it – my playlist as it were. I have many different types of music on my playlist from current favorites like Taylor Swift to my personal favorite, Frank Sinatra. I have jazz, dance, classical, pop and also hymns on several playlists. I listen to these songs in times of triumph and tragedy, to motivate me and to just chill out.

In our faith, there is also the ultimate playlist – the Book of Psalms. Psalms were like songs of the day and were written with passion and love just like all musical types. And there are many psalms that everyone can quote

Psalm 18 – The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer

Psalm 22 – My God, my God why have you forsaken me?

Psalm 23- The Lord Is my Shepherd. There is nothing that I lack

Psalm 27 – The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear?

Psalm 27 – One thing I ask from the Lord; this only do I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life

Psalm 46 – Be still and know that I am God

Psalm 118 –The stone the builders have rejected has become the cornerstone

Psalm 139 – I praise You because I am fearfully and wonderfully made

 

In each of these songs to God, there are elements of praise, anguish, faith and requests. These songs of faith are what I turn to when I need that true inspiration that a musical song can’t provide. Yes, I will always have my personal musical playlist but I also have a personal psalm playlist.

St. Augustine famously said “He who sings prays twice”.  So, look to the Book of Psalms for inspiration and as a way to sing your praises to the One who make all the music in our lives.

Leave a Reply

