Sick and Grateful

Bible-verses-for-hurting

 

Luke 5:29-32

Then Levi gave a great banquet in his house for Jesus, and there was a large crowd of tax collectors and others sitting at the table with them.  But the Pharisees and their experts in the law complained to his disciples, saying, “Why do you eat and drink with tax collectors and sinners?” Jesus answered them, “Those who are well don’t need a physician, but those who are sick do.  I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance.”

 

I don’t have time to be sick!

I have so much to do at work, so much holiday shopping to do, and my kids need to get here and there. I can’t afford to get sick.

I can’t afford not to get sick.

There is nothing like getting sick to remind you that for most of your life, you are well. God allows these momentary bouts of illness to slow us down and realize that He is the great physician in all matters, not just the physical ones.

For every minor cold or pulled muscle I have, I can thank God for the 99% of the time that I am in perfect health. But, is my spiritual life in good health?

My prayer life fluctuates between good and bad health. I get in periods where I am dedicated to my prayers, Scripture readings, and doing good things for others. And then there are times when I don’t take care of myself, stop reading, stop praying, and think of myself first.

Spiritual sickness.

I believe that God allows illness on every level to slow us down and remind us that we are after all human, not divine. We need to experience times of less than perfect health to allow us to appreciate how good we really have it. We also need to go to Him in all times of health – like in the marriage vows, in sickness and in health, good times and bad.

So, the next time you feel a sniffle coming on, thank God for the experience and for the chance to make your overall health better.

 

 

 

(image courtesy of patheos.com)

Leave a Reply

