In It Till The End 

James 1:12

Blessed is the man who remains steadfast under trial, for when he has stood the test he will receive the crown of life  which  God has promised to those who love him.



As some of you know, I am a sports fanatic. I love most sports but my passion is baseball and the New York Mets. I can’t really explain why I love them so much. I watch practically every game using the baseball app, so I actually pay for it. That’s either loyalty or craziness.

I have been a fan for 47 years. In these decades, I have seen more bad baseball than good, more disappointments than successes, more heartbreak than elation. But, the Mets are my team and I will always be a fan. 

There have been many trials in my years as a Mets fan but now in this playoff year, I am reaping in the benefits of my steadfastness. And it is so rewarding. 

Why can’t I be like this in my everyday life?

As I struggle through the trials in my daily life, I am not steadfast. I have many doubts and very little faith. I question why life has to be so hard at times. I feel a constant presence of stress and doubt over me. I am not standing the test. 

I talked to someone last week who put a new spin on it for me. In order to grow in faith, pain must happen. When you go to get a flu shot, it hurts but you know that the benefit of that shot outweighs the momentary discomfort. 

It’s the same for life. I have to endure the momentary pains no matter how serious they are in order to get to the benefit on the other side. The cross that is heavy with heartache and worry needs to be carried by me with thanks to God for allowing it to make me a better person. Easier said then done. 

I need to learn to be steadfast and allow God to determine what strengths I need to accomplish that feat. God has promised to those who love and trust Him the eternal crown of glory, life with Him for eternity. There is no trial that God will allow without a way to handle it. 

God, it’s me again. Yes, I am still not trusting You totally. I am not doing what I know is right. I am not surrendering to Your will. So, please help me to correct the errors of my ways. Open my ears to really listen for your voice and my heart to accept your unconditional love. Help me to accept my trials as a gift from You because You want me to be closer to You. 

If I can have faith in a baseball team, why not in God?

3 thoughts on “In It Till The End 

  1. You are on your way. Praying that God will give you the Grace to fully surrender yourself to Him. Then, Peace will reign in your Life. The Peace that only He can give you. God Bless you and Keep you in the Palm of His Hand.
    Love,
    Linda

Leave a Reply

