Trust When I Don’t Understand

Proverbs 3:5

Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding

About 6 years ago, I tried for a promotion at work and was turned down. I was disappointed but put it behind me. Since then, I have added much to my workload and decided to try again for that promotion. Today I received word that my appeal was rejected again.

Of course, I am disappointed again. I don’t understand why this has happened again. My understanding of it all is that I don’t understand.

How did I handle it this time? I gave it to God. I prayed to Him before I read the letter that I would accept whatever that letter held. I prayed that even if I didn’t agree with the ruling , I would accept it.

When I opened the letter, I did not accept it as well as my prayer intention stated. It just seems so unfair. What else do I have to do to get the recognition of my hard work and dedication?

Me. Me. Me. But it’s not all about me. It’s all about Him.

I don’t need to get anyone’s recognition. I only need God’s and He already knows me. He knew me before I knew me. I need to trust in Him in all things and know that He has other plans for me. There may be another opportunity that is coming for me that is better than what I have now.

Trust in the Lord with all thine heart and lean not on my human understanding. I don’t have to understand. I just have to know that God has it all under control. This promotion is not happening because it is not right for me according to the only One who really matters.

Leave a Reply

