All Roads Lead to God

tumblr_ms8xf3tx8c1so22nbo1_1280Luke 10:30-37

A certain man went down from Jerusalem to Jericho, and fell among thieves, which stripped him of his raiment, and wounded him, and departed, leaving him half dead. And by chance there came down a certain priest that way; and when he saw him, he passed by on the other side. And likewise a Levite, when he was at the place, came and looked on him, and passed by on the other side. But a certain Samaritan, as he journeyed, came where he was; and when he saw him, he had compassion on him, and went to him, and bound up his wounds, pouring in oil and wine, and set him on his own beast, and brought him to an inn, and took care of him. And on the morrow when he departed, he took out two pence, and gave them to the host, and said unto him, Take care of him: and whatsoever thou spendest more, when I come again, I will repay thee. Which now of these three, thinkest thou, was neighbor unto him that fell among the thieves? And he said, He that showed mercy on him. Then said Jesus unto him, Go, and do thou likewise.

As I was being tailgated and then passed on the road this morning by a person in quite a hurry, I said to myself (and out loud!). “Hey, what is that person’s problem?” “Where is the fire?”

It occurred to me that everyone on the road this morning was on a destination known only to them. The person behind me maybe was a speed freak, but maybe he was rushing to the hospital because someone he loved was hurt. Maybe he was an emergency responder on the way to an accident or chemical spill. Or maybe he really was just a jerk!

Everyone takes roads in their lives every day. Do you ever wonder what the road is that you are on ? Why does certain things happen to you and no one else? Or , why are others struggling while you are happy?

In the Good Samaritan reading above, the obvious lesson is to help others and do unto them as you would want done for you. But I also take away from this story the fact that all these people were on the same road for a reason known only to God. Only the Samaritan was actually listening to God’s will at that time. Even the priest blew God off!

Embrace the road that you are on in the present moment even if the road is filled with hardships. Each road leads to somewhere, doesn’t it? Let your roads be guided by God and let Him lead you where He needs you to be.

I am traveling currently on roads which have challenged my health and honestly my faith at points. But I need to travel this path because I have to believe that God has a great plan for me and that I will become a better person because of the struggles in my life. Maybe I can guide someone on their path who is struggling as well as the Samaritan did.

Make straight the way of the Lord!

(image courtesy of http://dancing-with-jesus.tumblr.com/)

Leave a Reply

