Brunt of the Yoke

Matthew 11:28 and 30

“Come to me, all you who are weary and find life burdensome, and I will refresh you. For my yoke is easy and my burden light”

This is probably one of the most well-known passages in all of Scripture. But I know when I first read it, I had no idea what was meant by the “yoke”. The only “yoke” I knew was the yellow part of an egg.  I came to find out that it is a kind of brace that connected oxen or other beasts of burden so they would work as a team in order to pull a plow or other farm instrument. So, what does it mean to us?

In my opinion, it means that Jesus is willing to be that brace to keep us in line and to help us plow though the problems of life. Everyone has problems, even the seemingly happiest among us. We are all burdened at one point or another and in those times, we need a steady plow to guide us through the muck and mire of life. We need a brace that will uphold us in times of unsteadiness. We need Jesus.

I am not a farmer, but I can picture the importance of having a yoke to keep the animals focused and being able to perform their duties with the utmost efficiency. It also helped the animals do the job safely as they worked in a unified team.

We need to do the same with Christ. We need to use the yoke to become united with Him and listen for His direction as we do his work each day. We need to become submissive to His will for our lives knowing that even in the trenches, He is with us. Only if we surrender ourselves to His yoke will we be able to find peace and know that our burdens will be lifted from our weary shoulders.

Jesus is willing to take on the heaviness of pain, suffering and sorrow for us each day as He did ultimately on the Cross. Accept His generosity and let your life be enlightened by His yoke.

Leave a Reply

