The Spirit Within

1 Corinthians 12

No one can say “Jesus is Lord” except by the Holy Spirit.  Now there are varieties of gifts, but the same Spirit;  and there are varieties of services, but the same Lord;  and there are varieties of activities, but it is the same God who activates all of them in everyone.  To each is given the manifestation of the Spirit for the common good.   To one is given through the Spirit the utterance of wisdom, and to another the utterance of knowledge according to the same Spirit,   to another faith by the same Spirit, to another gifts of healing by the one Spirit,   to another the working of miracles, to another prophecy, to another the discernment of spirits, to another various kinds of tongues, to another the interpretation of tongues.   All these are activated by one and the same Spirit, who allots to each one individually just as the Spirit chooses.

When I read this passage , I think about what the Holy Spirit means in my life and everyone’s life.  What does He do for us all? He is One Spirit that does a variety of things depending on what we individually need. For me at the present time, I need His wisdom and His compassion as I try to navigate difficult circumstances on many fronts. For others, He brings counsel and peace. For the Apostles, He brought the ability to forgive sins and therefore the Sacrament of Reconciliation was born.

For Catholics, the Holy Spirit brings 7 gifts   – wisdom, understanding, counsel, knowledge, fortitude, piety, and fear of the Lord (wonder and awe). At times, He brings all these gifts to us in the form of the people we meet each day. For me, I see these gifts in my priests and deacons at my church and in special people that God has put in my life. I hope in some way that I am sent by the Spirit into others’ lives in the same manner.

My life is no more complicated than anyone else’s. When you look at people, you really  have no idea what they are dealing with personally. You may think that you can’t handle what life throws at you, and in my case, I know I can’t unless I invite God into it. But it is through the daily workings of the Holy Spirit that I get through each 24 hour period.  I have to allow the Spirit into my life to handle the good and the bad, the joys and sufferings, the heart full of love and the heart that aches. It is the Spirit that works in our daily lives – He is the force that moves us in the right direction.

Today in the Catholic Church, we celebrate Pentecost Sunday. It is the day that Jesus brought the Holy Spirit to the Apostles and we consider it the birthday of the Church. What better day than one at the beginning to invite the Holy Spirit to be a part of your every day. Pray to the Spirit to be with you as you make decisions each day, even the smallest ones. The Spirit will never abandon you and if you allow this 3rd person of the Blessed Trinity to really become part of your everyday life, He will take you to places that you didn’t know existed.

Come Holy Spirit, Come!

 

d09fc191f3c9683b0fbb40e8a84c

 

 

 

(image courtesy of http://cf.mp-cdn.net)

Leave a Reply

