Take it to Heart

Proverbs 7:1-3
My son, keep my words, and lay up my commandments with thee. Keep my commandments, and live; and my law as the apple of thine eye. Bind them upon thy fingers, write them upon the table of thine heart.

How do I go about writing the posts for this blog? Well, mostly I read something in Scripture that speaks to my heart. I feel compelled to jot down my thoughts for others to read.  It starts with my pen and ends in my heart.

That is what this passage says to me. Keep God’s commandments starting with my actions and then within my heart.

My writing, for what it’s worth, is not my doing. It is a gift from God. It is He who speaks to my heart when I am writing. It is no great talent that I have developed; it is His talents within me.

You can keep His commandments by just doing what speaks to your heart. If you feel at peace, then you know it’s from God. Turmoil and stress is not from Our Creator. So, it sounds like it should be common sense, right? But it does not come that easily to most of us.

I know it’s hard for me to always follow God. It shouldn’t be, but I am human and flawed. So, I need to listen to my heart and do with my hands what God created me to do.  If someone reads my blog posts and is helped in some way, then I feel I am serving God. If no one but me reads this blog and I can go back and re-read some of my posts to get myself right with God, then I am serving Him as well.

God gave everyone talents to use not only for others, but to serve Him. Think about your strong suits and show the world your God-given talents!
Leave a Reply

