Helping Hands

Psalm 121:1-2
I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help.   My help cometh from the Lord, which made heaven and earth.

At Mass on Sunday, for some reason, I took notice of the other people that assist our priests. There were lectors, deacons, altar servers and musicians. For most people, the priest is the main person that everyone focuses on, but these other helpers play an important role in our celebration of the Eucharistic miracle that happens at each Mass.

This Lent, I looked at my life and decided to thank those helpers that have made my life more meaningful and who have helped me along the way. I just sent little notes to each of them thanking them for making a real contribution to my life and I’m sure to other lives. I have heard back from some and not from others, but that is fine.

Each person goes through this life at times feeling lonely, but truly are never alone. Not only do we always have Our Loving God at our sides, but these helpers that He puts in everyone’ s life to guide, inspire and just be there for us. I am so blessed to have many friends and helpers in my life and I hope that I am a friend and helper to others as well.

So, take a look at your life and send that person an e-mail. Better yet, call them or drop them a handwritten note ( yes, people do write notes these days!).  Let them know that they make a real difference in your life. Thank them. Pray for them. Be there for them.

And while you are at it, thank God for putting these helpers in your life. You could have no greater helper than Our Lord.
Leave a Reply

