Higher and Higher

Psalm 61:2
Hear my cry, O God; attend unto my prayer. From the end of the earth will I cry unto thee, when my heart is overwhelmed: lead me to the rock that is higher than I.
How much can one person take?

I never really thought about it too much until recently when I was that one person. I have had a terrible last 6 months personally and am looking forward to 2014 and to moving ahead. But, I am human and flawed and honestly, I don’t understand why this is happening to me and to the ones that I love the most?

My faith in God wavers and that makes me feel even worse.

I have to cry out to God and know that He will provide for me. He will set me upon that higher rock and the waves of despair and sorrow will be washed away eventually. I just need to stand firm on that rock.  And I need to stand firm upon the Rock that is my God.

No, I can’t even start to understand why all of this misfortune has happened to me. But, if I try to reason it out myself, I fail miserably. If I surrender it all to God, He will take care of it. After all, He already knows how it’s all going to end and I have no idea.  I just need to have faith. That is all God asks of me.

Yes, this all sounds great and holy,  but in reality, it is almost impossible to do. And I am the first one to admit that I am currently struggling mightily with this. But, it is in the struggle that I need to have faith in Him. I need to know that He will give me peace and comfort and give me the tools I need to get through this.  I can only fail if I don’t allow God to be merciful and generous to me. That would just be selfish on my part, wouldn’t it?

God, lift me higher and higher and set me safely upon the Rock that will withstand all human trials and sorrows.

saint peter 4
(image courtesy of on-this-rock.blogspot.com)
Leave a Reply

