Gifts that Keep On Giving

Romans 12:5-16
For I say, through the grace given to me, to everyone who is among you, not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think, but to think soberly, as God has dealt to each one a measure of faith. For as we have many members in one body, but all the members do not have the same function, so we, being many, are one body in Christ, and individually members of one another. Having then gifts differing according to the grace that is given to us, let us use them: if prophecy, let us prophesy in proportion to our faith; or ministry, let us use it in our ministering; he who teaches, in teaching; he who exhorts, in exhortation; he who gives, with liberality; he who leads, with diligence; he who shows mercy, with cheerfulness. 

About 7 years ago, my daughter was going to Religious education classes for the first time. I was told that if I volunteered to teach or assist in some way, I didn’t have to pay the tuition. Being purely selfish in this regard, I volunteered and became an aide to a full time catechist.  God chose to use that time in my life to plant the seed so I would become a catechist myself. After all, my college degree was in teaching but I had not pursued that occupation.

So, I now use my God given gift of teaching with my second graders and I love it! I am doing what St. Paul tells us to do – use your gifts, whatever they are, for the glory of God. When you use the gifts He has given you, you are not only helping others but honoring Him.

I would like to think in some small way that I have a gift for writing as well.  I started this blog for myself only; I never thought others would read it.  When I read Scripture and passages jump out at me, I jot something down. It’s just an inner push I get from God to record my thoughts for all to read. I hope in some small way that others get something from my writings. I know it helps me to keep in the Word.

So, use your talents for others and God. Are you a good cook? Then, bake something for a bake sale or maybe for a neighbor.  Are you mechanically inclined? See if someone you knows needs a hand with a project at home. Do you love to socialize? Visit a nursing home or hospital and brighten someone’s day.

We all have gifts given to us by God. He gives them to us not to horde but to share. By using all that God has given us, we are honoring Our Lord who through His great love for us has gifted us in these ways.
It is better to give than to receive…
Leave a Reply

