Rest for the Weary

Psalm 62

Only in God is my soul at rest; from him comes my salvation. He only is my rock and my salvation, my stronghold; I shall not be disturbed at all.

St Augustine famously said “My heart is restless until it rests in You”. How true!

We need to stop worrying about the trials of life – which we have no control over – and hand ourselves over to God.  It is in Him that we will find true peace. We need to let go of our worries and fears and truly come to realize that God already knows what’s going to happen to us all. No matter what we do, only God is in control.

God is our stronghold. He is our total strength in all situations. He is our resting place.

I struggle with this quite often. In the daily grind, I forget that whenever I think I have everything figured out, something always happens that knocks me down a peg. When will I ever learn that the only one that has it all figured out is The One?

So, I go through each day, seemingly in control of my life and for the most part, not giving God his due. He is in control of my life – after all, my life was a gift from God to begin with.  I need to get better at coming to terms with the facts as they are – God is in total control of the universe and everything He created. I am in control of nothing but my sinful and imperfect life.

As soon as I stop being stubborn and truly give my life to God, I will be at rest. And I shall not be disturbed. God will handle it all and I can just go along for the glorious ride.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

