His Vineyard

Luke 5:36-39

And he spake also a parable unto them: No man rendeth a piece from a new garment and putteth it upon an old garment; else he will rend the new, and also the piece from the new will not agree with the old. And no man putteth new wine into old wine-skins; else the new wine will burst the skins, and itself will be spilled, and the skins will perish. But new wine must be put into fresh wine-skins. And no man having drunk old wine desireth new; for he saith, The old is good.

 

When I read this passage, I always think about myself. Do I appear better than I am on the outside?  Am I honoring God by my actions and not deceiving Him? Am I a person who acts “holy” on the outside but am flawed on the inside? The answer for me would be – of course I do. I am human. I am flawed. I am a sinner.

The good news is that God already knows that and He stil loves us. He knows that I try to act better than I am for appearances sake and He still loves me. He knows that I try to impress others by trying to hard to be liked and He still loves me.

No matter what I do and how many times I do it, God still loves me. Isn’t that amazing?

In order for me to use the “new wine”, I need to prepare myself to be a “new wineskin”.  If I am not ready, the wine will leak out and I will receive nothing of its goodness.  We all need to be honest with ourselves and be ready to receive God’s mercy and gifts

 

 

Leave a Reply

