Asking for the Hard Life

Hardships

Venerable Solanus Casey

Do not pray for easy lives; pray to be stronger people. Do not pray for tasks equal to your powers; pray for powers equal to your tasks.

 

When people pray, what do they ask for? I know in my case when I am going through a hard time, I ask God to make it easier. But, should I be asking for that?

No one ever said that life was going to be easy.  God never said it either. In fact, there are many places in Scripture where it is mentioned that life is hard. Look at the story of Job – he endured more than any person should. But, did he ask to be delivered from the hardships? No!

So, when you pray, ask that God gives you the grace to get through the hard times, not to be delivered from them. It is true that whatever doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. God will never give you anything that you can’t handle if you rely on Him. Alone, we can do nothing.

I am going through a hard time presently on many fronts and I know that God will get me past all this and onto something better. I have to believe that He is making me go through all this to make me realize that I am not relying on Him as much as I should. Isn’t it funny how religious you get when things are hard?

I should be thanking God for the hardships in my life. They make me realize that I need God in every moment of every day. They also make me think about others that have it worse than I do and hopefully I can help those people.

Lord, I thank You for it all – good, bad, blessings, hardships and everything in between. Give me the grace to accept all that You have given me and to be with You through it all.

(image courtesy of mousemusings-bbb.blogspot.com)

 

Leave a Reply

