Day in and Day Out

Psalm 61

Hear my cry, O God; attend unto my prayer.From the end of the earth will I cry unto thee, when my heart is overwhelmed: lead me to the rock that is higher than I.For thou hast been a shelter for me, and a strong tower from the enemy.I will abide in thy tabernacle for ever: I will trust in the covert of thy wings. Selah.For thou, O God, hast heard my vows: thou hast given me the heritage of those that fear thy name.Thou wilt prolong the king’s life: and his years as many generations.He shall abide before God for ever: O prepare mercy and truth, which may preserve him.So will I sing praise unto thy name for ever, that I may daily perform my vows.

I don’t know about you, but I go through times of great zeal for my God and my faith and times of great lull. Lately, I have been in one of those lull periods. I just don’t make the time to read the Word or even to update this blog.  I don’t pray daily like I should and God just comes up at Sunday Mass.  Even at Mass, there are times when I am just going through the motions.

Sound familiar?

If it sounds familiar to you, don’t worry about it. It is perfectly natural as human beings to go through these ebbs and flows in life and especially our spiritual life. No one, even those who have dedicated their lives to God, can keep it up 24/7. But, what does God think of this?

God knows all – He knows that even in our leaner times, we are still His children. He is not a God that needs to hear over and over that we need Him. He already knows that. He is a loving and compassionate God who understands our good and bad times and loves us anyway.

So, I need to make a better effort at finding that time to get back to daily prayer and Scripture.  I need to make that time in my day to put God first. I need to also not beat myself up about my lack of prayer and chalk it up to simply being human.

Don’t worry – just let the Spirit move you.

Leave a Reply

