A Carnival Atmosphere

Instead of blogging about Scripture in this post, I want to blog about something different.

 

As I was working at the parish carnival last week, I just took a moment to take it all in. I saw young families enjoying the hot summer night. I saw teenagers hanging out together in the one place that most parents wouldn’t have to worry about. I talked with my parish priest and saw some other friends from my parish. And I made a new friend in Bob, an elderly man whom I worked with at the Ladder Game. I also smelled all the great food that was cooking and longed for another bottle of cold water on a 100 degree night.

In the midst of all this, I glanced at my church’s spire. This thought came to me – with the Blessed Sacrament in exposition at our church in our Adoration Chapel, what is Jesus thinking about all this noise going on outside His tabernacle?  Is it too loud? Is it irreverent to have all this disruption outside His house?

On the contrary!

I would have to think that Jesus loves having the carnival right outside His house. He can be pleased in knowing that so many have put numerous hours into the planning, setup and running of the carnival, which is the biggest fundraiser for our parish and most parishes I would believe. Jesus would see everyone working hard in the heat, being friendly to our neighbors and enjoying each other’s camaraderie.

Our Lord and Savior would observe our vibrant parish life – our parishioners who volunteered and the ones who brought their families in support of the mission. He would also know that the money raised will go to help many who need our help in these tough times. Our parish has over 40 ministries and gives to many people and organizations.

So, is it OK with Jesus for all  that racket to be going on while He is resting quietly in His Father’s House? It is more than just OK. It is what we are all called to do as Christians. We are called to love one another as God has loved us. What better way to love than to be in the presence of our family and friends and to help one another. It is what Jesus did and He expects us to do as well.

So, turn up the music and smell those hamburgers grilling! Play some games of chance and have fun while supporting your parish or church! Let Jesus hear you singing and laughing and enjoying life! Make every day a carnival atmosphere – let the joy and love that Christ exemplified in His life be expressed in your life.

Leave a Reply

