Father’s Day

Our Father, who art in Heaven, hallowed be Thy name. Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done on earth as it is in Heaven. Give us each day our daily bread and forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation but deliver us from evil.

 

Yesterday was Father’s Day – a day we traditionally honor and fuss over our fathers and thank them for all that they have done for us. But, do we take the time to thank our Heavenly Father on this day?

I would say most of us forget to thank The One who makes everything possible. Without God, we have nothing. God gives us our earthly fathers to guide us  and nurture us in this life until Our Heavenly Father receives us in Heaven.

I also try to take the time to thank my priests, my spiritual Fathers, in my parish. My priests are wonderful and we are so blessed to have them. In the  Catholic faith, we need priests to give us the Sacraments , especially Confession and the Eucharist.

I also think about my dad who passed in 1998. My dad and I were extremely close and he was a wonderful man. He was funny, talented, wise and an inspiration to me. I still miss him every day and I wish he was still here to see his legacy grow.  When I look at my kids, and now my new grandson, I think of my dad.  I thank God for the gift of both my parents in my life.

I pray the Our Father every day. It is the complete prayer – thanking God and also asking for his intercession in our lives.  If we bring all our concerns to our Heavenly Father, He will provide.

Happy Father’s Day, God!

 

 

 

(Image courtesy of http://www.trinitychurchbrentwood.org/home/our-father)

 

Leave a Reply

