Mercy

Psalm 51

Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love; according to your great compassion,blot out my transgressions. Wash away all my iniquity and cleanse me from my sin .For I know my transgressions, and my sin is always before me. Against you, you only, have I sinned and done what is evil in your sight, so that you are proved right when you speak and justified when you judge. Surely I was sinful at birth, sinful from the time my mother conceived me. Surely you desire truth in the inner parts, you teach me wisdom in the inmost place.Cleanse me with hyssop, and I will be clean; wash me, and I will be whiter than snow. Let me hear joy and gladness; let the bones you have crushed rejoice. Hide your face from my sins and blot out all my iniquity. Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.  Then I will teach transgressors your ways, and sinners will turn back to you

 

When I read this psalm, I can’t help but think that humans are such flawed creations. In this psalm, the writer is begging for mercy after he has admitted that he has sinned against God. Isn’t it human nature to come crawling to God once everything else has failed?

How many times have we shown mercy to others when we have been wronged? It is so hard to do this and yet we are called to do just that. God always forgives us and shows us mercy even when we don’t deserve it. We need to do the same – extend mercy and forgiveness to all who ask and more importantly, those who don’t ask. Those who have offended and hurt us deeply are the ones that we need to be merciful to the most.

If we don’t show mercy to others, God will not show it to us. And God does not owe us anything. He is just a kind and loving Creator.

So, if you want forgiveness and mercy, show it to others. Let God see that in some small way, you are trying to imitate Him.

 

 

Leave a Reply

