A Lenten Beginning

Job 42

I know that Thou canst do every thing, and that no thought can be withheld from Thee.Who is he that hideth counsel without knowledge?’ Therefore have I uttered what I understood not, things too wonderful for me, which I knew not.
Hear, I beseech thee, and I will speak; I will question thee, and declare thou unto Me.I have heard of Thee by the hearing of the ear, but now mine eye seeth Thee.Therefore I abhor myself, and repent in dust and ashes.

Lent begins tomorrow with Ash Wednesday. Lent is a season of repentence and inner reflection. You should be examining your life and seeing where it can be changed for the better. We as Christians are called to repent and be sorry for our shortcomings and allow God to forgive us. We will be made clean by our confessions and our contrition.

On Ash Wednesday, ashes are placed on our foreheads as a visible outward sign of our repentence. So, when others see you tomorrow, they will know you are a Christian. They will also know that you are sorry for your sins and aim to do better. By the way, the ashes come from the burning of palms from Palm Sunday the year before.

As the passage says, we don’t know everything and we know that nothing can be withheld from God. He knows all. I hear things but now my spirit sees what God wants for my life. I repent in dust and ashes.

During this Lenten season, let’s not get all caught up in what we are “giving up for Lent”. Let’s focus on giving of ourselves to God and one another. I try to give up a material thing but I also try to add something to my Lenten season. Over the 40 days, I try to increase my prayer life and do something for others as well. God gave us His Son, who gave the ultimate sacrifice for us. The least I can do is give up candy for 40 days.

Take the time this Lent to look at your life. What can you change? How can you make things better? How can you serve God more? Take these 40 days to slow down and listen for God’s voice in the silence of your heart.

 

Leave a Reply

