A Monk’s Simple Message

 

Thomas Merton,Monk and Writer

God, we have no idea where we are going. We do not see the road ahead of us. We cannot know for certain where it will end. Nor do we really know ourselves, and the fact that we think we are following your will does not mean that we are actually doing so. But we believe that the desire to please you does in fact please you. And we hope we have that desire in all that we are doing. We hope that we will never do anything apart from that desire. And we know that if we do this you will lead us by the right road, though we may know nothing about it. Therefore, we will trust you always though we may seem to be lost and in the shadow of death. We will not fear, for you are ever with us, and you will never leave us to face our perils alone.

 

I am going to deviate from my usual Scriptural postings to talk about this prayer. It was written by Thomas Merton who was a Monk and a writer. He wrote many works, including The Seven Storey Mountain which is a great read about his life and the struggles even a holy man like Merton went through.

I love this prayer and say it every day. It has everything in it that a person could want – admitting that we know nothing of what we are to experience, stating that we don’t really know if we are doing God’s will but hope that we are, and the faith that God will provide for us and lead us down the right road if we just place our trust in Him.

I can identify with this prayer totally. It is a prayer for the regular person – we don’t know what’s ahead, we hope we are living a good life and if we leave everything to God, all will work out. This simple prayer says it all. After the Our Father, this is my favorite prayer.

Merton was a wonderful writer and his style is very easy to follow. He doesn’t preach at you – he relays life experiences that he has learned valuable lessons from. He was a regular guy who became a monk and priest and was a shining example of how someone should live their life. I would highly recommend reading some of his works.

So, with this prayer in mind, I pray ” God, Thomas Merton was right. I have no idea where I am going and I hope that I am living the life You want me to live. Please guide me through my good and bad times. Help me to help others and know in my heart that You will provide for me. I am never alone because You are with me till the end of time.”

 

 

 

 

(Image courtesy of wikipedia.org)

Leave a Reply

