Trust in the Lord

Psalm 22

My God, my God, why have You forsaken me? Far from my deliverance are the words of my groaning.  O my God, I cry by day, but You do not answer; And by night, but I have no rest. Yet You are holy, O You who are enthroned upon the praises of Israel.  In You our fathers trusted; They trusted and You delivered them. To You they cried out and were delivered; In You they trusted and were not disappointed.

There have been times in my life where I felt just like the first line of this psalm – O God, why have you forsaken me? I think we all have had moments like that. Yet, the Scriptures tell us that if we just trust in God’s plan, it all works out for the best.

This does not mean that we get everything we want and that life is just great all the time. It means that in those times of trouble, stress, and sorrow, we need to trust in God even more knowing that He will make all things right. Again, this doesn’t mean that you will get everything you pray for but will receive everything that God intends you to receive.

Everything that happens in our lives is a gift from God. Even the hard times are a tremendous gift. Faith is also a gift – it does not come easily. I have to work on my faith every day and there are times when I feel that my faith is not there. Yet, I know that God is always there.

On the dollar bill is printed the words “In God We Trust”.  Why? Because God is the central source of all peace, light, love and goodness.  Way back when, our founding mothers and fathers knew that we could accomplish nothing as a nation and as a people without God. I think, especially lately, that our country has forgotten this. We need to get back to trusting God’s plan for our wonderful country and for each other.

When we trust in God, we will never be disapppointed.

(image courtesy of http://www.arikhanson.com)

Leave a Reply

