Trials into Triumphs

James 1

Consider it all joy, my brethren, when you encounter various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance.  And let endurance have its perfect result, so that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.

 

How many of us feel joy when we are faced with hard times? I know I don’t.

Yesterday, I started a new year of teaching religious education. I look forward to it in most years, but last year, I had a hard experience. My class had 3 special needs children and it took me the whole year to figure it out. Looking back, I could have handled some situations better had I known.

At the end of last year’s class, I was convinced that I was not going to teach anymore.  I just didn’t think I could do it for another year.

I thought and prayed on it a lot and decided to teach again after all.

Yesterday, my new class marched in and in that class were :

2 sets of twins
1 set of triplets and
1 special needs child
20 students in all, which for our parish, is quite a large group.

So, again, I felt overwhelmed from day 1. But, then I thought about why? Why did I have another challenging year ahead of me?
Because God wants me to. He wants me to have joy and happiness even though it will take a lot of effort on my part to get through the year. God knows that I am up to the challenge as long as I come to Him for the strength, patience and guidance I need. After all, I can do all things through Christ, right?

I need to work on my faith – no, not the Catholic faith in general, but my personal level of faith. I look at this as a great opportunity to increase my faith and just give everything to God. God will hold me up when I fall and strengthen me when I am weak. I know that with God, I can accomplish any task that He wants me to complete.

So, in all things, we are to be grateful and joyful. I am grateful to be teaching religious education and joyful to do it for the Lord. All I have to do is look at the wonderous faces of my 7 and 8 year olds and know that by teaching my faith, I am growing in faith.

Faith is believing in what you can’t see or touch – I am so glad that God has that faith in me.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

