A Forgiving Nature

Matthew 18

Peter approached Jesus and asked him,“Lord, if my brother sins against me,how often must I forgive him?
As many as seven times?”      Jesus answered, “I say to you, not seven times but seventy-seven times.

One of the hardest thing for most people to do is forgive someone who has wronged them. I had this experience recently. I had supported someone and they turned on me out of the blue. They sent me some very hurtful e-mails and it wounded me deeply. I was very shocked and hurt and angry. How could I forgive this person?

My first step was to pray on it. When I still felt angry and resentful,  I went then to Confession. My parish priest was a true gift from God. He helped me to see that I needed to forgive this person even though I did nothing wrong. But, believe me, it has been very difficult to do this. I am still working on it honestly.

The thing that keeps me working on it is the passage from Scripture above. Jesus commands us to forgive others as we are forgiven by God. We need to do this in order to gain the Kingdom of Heaven. We make this promise to God every time we say the Our Father.

God always forgives us and we need to do the same. Ask God for the grace to forgive and pray for the offending person. They need the prayers  as much as you do.

Forgive and forget – -that is what we should be doing. If it’s good enough for God, shouldn’t it be good enough for us?

 

Leave a Reply

