Give and Take

Job 1:21

The Lord giveth and the Lord hath taken away, blessed be the name of the Lord.

Anyone who knows the Bible knows about Job. He had it all and it was taken away from him by the enemy. Job suffered terribly – he lost his family, his health and  everything he had. Yet, Job praised the Lord above all things. How was he able to do that?

Job realized that everything, good or bad, was a gift from God. It’s easy to praise God when things are going well; it’s another to praise him in the midst of turmoil. Yet, God gives us everything and He should be praised.

I have had a few rough years as everyone has . It’s so easy to feel sorry for yourself and get down. It’s hard to realize that God is in control, even in the trying times. It is God who calls us to Him especially in the darkness. It is in those times that God calls us to become closer to Him through our suffering.

That is what Job did. He knew that God was the author of everything and it was because of God’s generosity, Job had those things that were initially taken from him – family, possessions, and health.Through Job’s amazing and unwavering faith in God, all those things were restored to Job many times over.

When I have suffered in my life, I have looked to Job as an example of how I should be living. I praise God for all that I have and all that I don’t have. Yes, I thank God for the trials and sufferings in my life because I know that God is calling me to be closer to Him through the trials.

With God, it’s give and take – you give Him your life and He’ll take you to places you can only imagine

 

 

Leave a Reply

